Liberian Studies Association 2020

Emerging Scholars Award


The Liberian Studies Association (LSA) invites abstracts for presentations, panels, and roundtables that examine scholarship related to the conference’s theme of “The Functional State: Historical Lessons, Current Best Practices and Future Paths.”


In order to encourage and foster early-career scholars who are emerging as contributors to African/Liberian scholarship, the LSA has created the LSA  2020 Emerging Scholars Travel Award.  The award will support Master’s and Doctoral students who are members of  an academic, research or professional institution.  Those who have graduated with such degrees must have done so in the last 3 years (2016-2019).  


AWARD: Six awards of $400 each and conference registration



Submit an 8-10 page draft of paper to be reviewed by both the LSA Selection Committee and the Liberian Studies Journal (LSJ) Editor by February 1st, 2020. 

After review by the LSA team and revision by the author, final paper must be received by March 23rd, 2020.


Award recipients will present their papers at the 2020 LSA Conference and will submit their papers for publication consideration in the Liberian Studies Journal.  


Proposal Review Criteria

LSA strives to offer balanced, informative, and thought-provoking conferences focused on practical and theoretical approaches to development in Liberia, across a broad spectrum of disciplines and contexts. The abstract selection committee includes academic professionals with a range of backgrounds and areas of expertise who are all members of LSA.


LSA proposals reviewed criteria:

  • relevance and significance to conference theme;

  • the rigor of the analysis;

  • potential for practical, policy-oriented, innovative and transformative outcomes;

  • the extent to which proposals reflect diverse perspectives, innovations, disciplines,

and strategies for change; and,

  • the significance of the conclusions as well as their relevance to issues affecting

All inquiries and submissions for the Emerging Scholars Award should be send to:Prof. Emmanuel Oritsejafor at eoritsejafor@NCCU.EDU